top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

Tomorrow's Bread


I've been reading a lot of poetry lately. It's a survival technique, really.

...I wonder if that will read more dramatically than intended?

Nonetheless, I imagine you can relate, given the current state of affairs in this country. I've always been a political junkie. I enjoyed the occasional friendly political debate with friends and family. But, the past two years changed all that; things have gotten so nasty. At this point, we're all running around the coop hopeless as a headless chicken.

That said, there are moments that ground us. For me, that's curling up in a warm blanket, reading a beautiful book of poetry. Sometimes poems play like songs in my mind for days. Somehow, this one felt perfect to share after last night's governor's race here in Virginia. I hope you enjoy it.

"Democracy" by Langston Hughes

Democracy will not come Today, this year Nor ever Through compromise and fear. I have as much right As the other fellow has To stand On my two feet And own the land. I tire so of hearing people say, Let things take their course. Tomorrow is another day. I do not need my freedom when I'm dead. I cannot live on tomorrow's bread. Freedom Is a strong seed Planted In a great need. I live here, too. I want freedom Just as you.

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page