top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

This is the Life

The first warm day of spring! The kids and I go on nature walks often, but this time was really special. Finally, the cold dark winter days are behind us. Seriously, does life get any better than this?

We packed lunch and headed over to a sweet little botanic garden on the outskirts of town. Check out the garden rules. So much for a picnic in the park. We headed back to the car and dined al fresco out of the trunk.

Winter had not been kind to this place. The paths were littered with cold rocks, the koi pond was dry, the trees hung low, unable to right themselves after buckling under the weight of winter snow. But there was a peacefulness about the broken branches and weather-worn bridges that reminded me winter is supposed to happen. Without it, I wonder how excited I would be about the coming spring.

We particularly loved this bridge. It has a real “The Road Not Taken” quality to it. It left a lasting impression.

As we walked deeper in the dry landscape, we happened up these little flowers. I'm not sure what they're called, but they looked like sweet little downturned crocuses. They were quite beautiful and such a surprise.

At this point we picked up the pace and had a great hike. I wouldn't change a thing.

Somehow, I almost felt sad to say goodbye to winter as we walked away, but we'll meet again soon.

What will you be up to on perfect sunny days like this?

Related Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page