top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

Coconut Blondies


Coconut Blondies

Warm coconut blondies topped with vanilla bean ice cream! Really, where can this go wrong?

I'm sort of a short cut girl when it comes to baking...I'm not mad at a boxed cake mix. But "yellow cake" can get boring, even for my very sweet tooth.

This recipe came about as I was trying to find a new way to kick up my cake mix game. Every now and then, you have to let go and play with your food. So I did just that, and the result was nothing short of amazing!

The secret is to start with your favorite packaged mix as your batter base. Don't go hunting for a certain flavor--whatever you have on hand will do: French vanilla, yellow, butter, etc. Throw out the original directions and follow my easy instructions. You'll be in dessert heaven in no time.

Ingredients:

1 box yellow cake mix

1 cup coconut milk

1/3 cup finely chopped sweetened shredded coconut (plus extra for garnish)

1/2 cup melted butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine cake mix, 1/3 cup coconut milk, and melted butter. Stir together until thoroughly mixed.

Grease 8 x 8 or 9 x 9-inch square baking pan (I used coconut oil but whatever cooking oil you have on hand will do).

Spread mixture into pan.

Bake for 30 - 35 minutes. Sprinkle shredded coconut over blondies.

Serve warm with vanilla bean ice cream and/or a drizzle of caramel sauce.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page