top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

Summer Reads Make Me Feel Fine

I'm not one to tear through a book in two seconds. It's takes a wicked combination of wit and whimsy to keep my ever-shifting attention -- but when it does happen -- that, my friends, is the stuff of margaritas and beach blanket dreams.

Most reading lists are at least 20 novels deep. I just couldn't do that to you. Don't get me wrong, I thought about it, but after I picked my top five books, I thought, why not stop there? Besides, these books are so good, you won't miss the other 15.

Happy day, I'm finally getting around to the latest installment of No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series! Mma Precious Ramotswe goes on a much deserved vacation. But of course her natural penchant for investigation calls her to put her detective skills back to work again. It's the perfect sunny day at the beach read.

Siddhartha Mukherjee

I'm taking a chance on this one because I haven't read it yet -- well, not the whole thing anyway. So far, I find it strange yet infectiously appealing. So, on the list it goes! As the title suggests, this story is all about genetics - you know, the stuff we get from our parents, whether we like it or not. Mukherjee tells us about his family's history of mental illness and how heredity in human beings influences our daily lives.

J.K. Rowling

Two words -- Why not? Harry Potter fun doesn't have to come to an end for families all over the world. This newly released script version of the play is sure to have your inner witch or wizard dusting off their broom again.

Kehinde Wiley (American, b. 1977). Shantavia Beale II, 2012. Oil on canvas, 60 x 48 in. (152.4 x 121.9 cm). Collection of Ana and Lenny Gravier. © Kehinde Wiley. (Photo: Jason Wyche, courtesy of Sean Kelly, New York) Read more at http://vmfa.museum/exhibitions/exhibitions/kehinde-wiley-a-new-republic/#U9ZlgS2bRAghGZ6T.99

VMFA Collection of Ana and Lenny Gravier. © Kehinde Wiley. (Photo: Jason Wyche, courtesy of Sean Kelly, New York)

Thelma Golden (Contributor), Robert Hobbs (Contributor), Sarah E. Lewis (Contributor), Brian Keith Jackson (Contributor), Peter Halley (Contributor)

I'm a big Wiley fan. I've admired his art - a unique take on American portraiture - for years. This lovely coffee table book celebrates hip-hop culture in painted song while inspiring a conversation about race and status in American society.

Irin Carmon, Shana Knizhnik

Admittedly, I mostly loved the title. Is that gauche? Seriously, the title rocks but there is much more to this book. It chronicles the life of Supreme Court Justice, Ruth Bader Ginsberg. Regardless of your political leanings, you'll be moved by the life journey of Ruth Bader Ginsberg. She's broken glass ceilings and paved the way for women and girls to speak up, stand up and change our nation for the better.

I hope one of my favorite summer reads grabs (and keeps) your attention this summer. Click on the title for a link to learn more or purchase a book.

What are you reading this summer?

PS. I'm such a geeky 70's soft rock fan that I had to make sure you caught the Seals and Crofts "Summer Breeze" play on the title of this blog post. So there.

Enjoy your breezy summer reads.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page