top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

Blueberry Braised Chicken Legs


Blueberry Braised Chicken Legs - Vermilion Lane Recipes

Who isn’t looking for a new chicken recipe? I know I am always on the hunt for a fresh way to whip up yard bird - as my dad likes to call it. For most people chicken is simply the least expensive and easiest to prepare. When I created this recipe I had all those things in mind but I also wanted it to feel special.

Rarely am I completely satisfied with one of my new recipe creations. This is one of the few times I can honestly say I wouldn't change a thing. How (the hubby) and our children absolutely love it. Even my pickiest eater devoured two drumsticks and promptly licked each of his fingers - that was major - I didn't even complain about the lack of table manners.

The ingredients are easily accessible but if you find that you don't have ancho chili powder on hand simply mixed a 1/4 teaspoon of cumin with a dash of cayenne to replicate the favor.

I can't wait to hear if you love it as much as my family.

Ingredients:

8-10 chicken legs or 1 whole chicken cut into parts 2 cups chicken stock 1/3 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar 10 ounces blueberry preserves 1 large onion, chopped 3 celery stalks, chopped 1 teaspoon minced garlic 1 teaspoon hot chili pepper paste 1/4 teaspoon ancho chili powder 4 teaspoons vegetable oil (plus more if needed) 2 teaspoons olive oil salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Liberally salt and pepper chicken. Heat large stock pot to medium-high. Coat bottom of pot with oils. Brown chicken, working in batches, approximately 3-5 minutes per side. Remove chicken and reduce heat to medium Add onions and celery, saute until for 5-7 minutes, stirring frequently Add all other ingredients one at a time, stirring in between ingredients Carefully place chicken in pot Cover and braise approximately 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours Remove lid during the last 15 minutes of cooking

Recipe by Drea of VERMILIONLANE.COM

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page