top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

CURE THE ABO

--ABANDONED BOOK OFFENSE--

If you're anything like me, every season you pick up a copy of the latest bestseller, get a third of the way through and promise yourself that you're going to make time to finish it. Next thing you know, you find it tucked under the coffee table a year later. The ABO strikes again!

I've found a sure-fire way to avoid the dreaded Abandoned Book Offense. It's a simple 4-step process:

1. Turn off your cellphone. Sounds easy but we all know how difficult it is to truly disconnect these days. So, I'm talking literally, turn off your device and place it a kitchen drawer--out of sight, out of mind.

2. Pour a glass of merlot or mug of green tea with a hint of honey; either way, hello warm and cozy goodness.

3. Have a seat on the most expensive furniture you own. There's something about sitting on the living room couch that makes you feel special. Let's just pray it's not wrapped in plastic--if so, send me an email, 'cause Girlfriend, we need to talk.

4. Crack open a novel of revel-worthy proportions.

5. REPEAT | Seriously, repeat the first 4 steps every evening until you're done.

It's such a great feeling to do something indulgent that doesn't include chocolate. Okay, maybe a little chocolate...

Not sure which page turner is right for you? Pick from my list and I guarantee these books will hold your interest far beyond the last page:

"The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time"

Mark Haddon

This book is about so much more than an Autistic boy who goes on the hunt for a dog napper. I don't want to give too much away, suffice it to say, it's weirdly lovely.

"Their Eyes were Watching God"

Zora Neale Hurston

You'll feel the moist musty air on your lips and your feet will ache as you stand in the store with Jody all evening. It's that kind of story--you live every word.

"The Kite Runner"

Khaled Hosseini

Hosseini's first and, in my opinion, best work. The characters and scenery are unforgettable.

"Snow Flower and the Secret Fan"

Lisa See

This book feels forbidden, as if you sneaked into someone's soul to read it. It's tragically magical.

"The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency"

Alexander McCall Smith

My favorite vacay novel. This is a series I can pick up anytime and dive right in. No pretense, just a fun story about a plucky South African "lady detective."

"Yes, Please"

Amy Poehler

Amy Poehler is a comedic genius. 'Nuff said.

"Thomas and Beulah"

Rita Dove

This is a very special book of poetry written in a very original perspective.

"Blood Done Sign My Name"

Timothy B. Tyson

This true story is the voice of a young Caucasian boy in the American South during the height of racial unrest in the late sixties. His honesty and imperfections make the story feel all the more real.

"Everything is Illuminated"

Jonathan Safran Foer

One of my top 5 of all time! Check out the movie, too--it's quirky, satirical and wonderful just like the book.

"The Road Not Taken and Other Poems"

Robert Frost

This is my favorite collection of Frost's work. My top two are: "Nothing Gold Can Stay" and "Hyla Brook."

"Maniac Magee"

Jerry Spinelli

*Why a children's novella, you ask? Every mother knows that when we're supposed to be totally focused on ourselves somehow our kids tip-toe into our thoughts. So, I couldn't help myself. I highly recommend this one for the whole family.

My children and I read "Maniac Magee" together and we enjoyed it a great deal. Kids of all ages and adults will laugh out loud and shed a tear with this refreshing spin on a classic tale of belonging and self- acceptance.

I can't wait to re-read the Frost poems. What will you be reading this season?

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page