top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

Apple Butter Brandied Pumpkin Pie


There’s nothing like the aroma of cinnamon-kissed pumpkin pie wafting from the oven. I love to bake with pumpkin on the chilliest days of winter because it reminds me of Thanksgivings and Christmases spent with friends and family in recent years and long ago.

As always, I’ve put a bit of a twist on the classic dish. I added a cup of delicious homemade apple butter I purchased from a local farmer at our fall market last year. But I didn’t stop there; a spot of brandy takes this apple butter pumpkin pie to the next level.

To save time and energy, I used a 9-inch frozen deep dish crust. But if you're in the mood to make your own crust, by all means.

The best part is, it’s so easy. Just blend, bake, eat – repeat!

Join me in my kitchen via my YouTube videos to make this and many more recipes.

Got a little batter left over? Use ramekins to make custard cups.

Caution: These little custards are crazily addictive. But the good news is they offer automatic portion control--if you can eat just one, that is.

Apple Butter Brandied Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients:

1 cup pumpkin

1 cup apple butter

1 cup heavy cream

1/3 cup whole milk

2/3 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 egg yolk

1 tablespoon brandy

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground ginger

½ teaspoon salt

9-inch frozen deep dish pie crust

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Blend pumpkin and apple butter using an electric mixer on medium speed.

Mix in brown sugar, salt, cinnamon and ground ginger.

Turn mixer speed to medium-low and add eggs, one at a time.

Slowly add milk and cream to mixture.

Stir in brandy on low speed until incorporated.

Thaw pie crust 5 minutes.

Pour mixture into barely thawed pie shell. If you have excess batter, pour it into greased ramekins to make individual custards.

Bake 50-60 minutes or until custard is set. Bake ramekins for 20-25 minutes.

Recipe by Andrea Witt, Cooking @ Vermilion Lane

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page