top of page
HI, I'M DREA!

Mom, wife, educator, and purveyor of this little corner of the internet called Vermilion Lane.

Honey Lime Jicama & Apple Slaw

Jicama is one of my favorite salad additions. I love the slightly bitter crunch against sweet ingredients like mandarin oranges or grapes. In this dish I use apples, mint and honey to compliment raw savoy cabbage and the radish like taste of jicama.

This slaw is a perfect dish to whip up and enjoy a variety of ways during the week. Try it in a bowl of Bibb lettuce as a lunch salad with a crusty bagette or as a condiment on a sandwich, hot dog or burger. I love it over Korean BBQ as a lighter and fresher alternative to Kimchi.

The ingredients are easy to find, healthy, fresh and affordable.

Check out my companion video at the end of this post for my easy Barbecue Chicken Sliders recipe that pairs perfectly with the jicama slaw.

Honey Lime Apple and Jicama slaw is as healthy as it is beautiful and delicious.

Watch the video on YouTube, I can't wait to hear what you think. Subscribe to my Vermilion Lane YouTube channel to see weekly cooking and craft videos.

Honey Lime Jicama and Apple Slaw Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 savoy cabbage, cored and shredded

  • 1 large jicama, about 1/2 pound

  • 3/4 cup greek yogurt

  • 2 large carrots, shredded

  • 1/2 jalapeño, seeded and diced

  • 1 minced garlic clove

  • salt and pepper to taste

  • 1 lime (juice and zest)

  • 6 tablespoons honey

  • 1 teaspoon on finely minced mint

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl combine all ingredients. Salt and pepper to taste, approximately 1/2 teaspoon each.

Recipe by Andrea for Vermilion Lane

Barbecue Chicken Sliders Recipe Video

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page